Folds of the Flag

Sam Karr

Not every important lesson is learned in the classroom. The Young Men’s Service League (YMSL) provides mothers and sons opportunities to serve together in their communities and to learn from others. Support Our Troops (SOT) welcomed the Argyle High School YMSL to their October meeting. While there, the young men wrote letters to our troops, and SOT mailed them inside care packages. The teens enjoy listening to veterans talk about their time in service, and they enjoyed a special treat when the Roanoke VFW 5074 came to demonstrate the correct way to fold, unfold, and hold our flag. In the future, when they see the flags folded, they will know and understand the reason. The demonstration was conducted by Michael Clune, Commander of Post 5074; Steven Cartes, Post 5074 Liaison with Scout Troops; and Sam Karr, Post 5074 member and Robson Ranch resident.

For more than 200 years, the American flag has served as a symbol of our nation’s freedom, and a way to honor deceased veterans. It is impossible not to notice the Honor Guard at Military funerals paying meticulous attention to correctly folding the American flag 13 times. Each fold has a deep meaning. Be surprised at the following:

The 1st fold is a Symbol of Life.

The 2nd fold is a Symbol of Our Belief in Eternal Life.

The 3rd fold is made in Honor and Remembrance of the veterans who gave a portion of their lives for the defense of our country.

The 4th fold represents our Weaker Nature, for as American Citizens trusting in God, it is to Him we turn in times of peace and war.

The 5th fold is a Tribute to our Country.

The 6th fold is for where our Hearts Lie. It is with our hearts that “We pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands.”

The 7th fold is a Tribute to our Armed Forces.

The 8th fold is a Tribute to the One who entered into the valley of the shadow of death, that we might see the light of day.

The 9th fold is a Tribute to Womanhood and Mothers. For it is through their faith, love, loyalty, and devotion that the character of men and women who made this country great has been molded.

The 10th fold is a Tribute to Fathers, for they have given their sons and daughters for the defense of our country.

The 11th fold represents the lower portion of the Seal of King David and King Solomon and glorifies the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.

The 12th fold represents an Emblem of Eternity and Glorifies God the Father, the Son, and Holy Spirit.

The 13th fold, or when the flag is completely folded, the Stars are uppermost reminding us of our nation’s motto: “In God We Trust.”